Instant Aid Initiative For Stroke Patients

Heinrich KuhnMy Story

I am Heinrich Kuhn,
55 years old,
Male nurse,
Physical therapist,
Teacher of the Alexander-Technique,
and more.

As Physical therapist and therapist for the Alexander-Technique I have been working with stroke patients for over 28 years – both in a clinical setting and at home with their families. In December 2010 I suffered a stroke myself and was hemiplegic on the left side, so I got to experience the “other side”, this time being a patient.

Because of my long professional experience and practice I have experienced this time much different than other stroke patients. Communication played a key role in my experience and this is why this blog came about.


3 Levels Of Communication

This website does not focus on the medical aspect of stroke. It is rather a communication platform from a stroke patient for stroke patients. The topic of communication that I want to introduce you to has 3 levels or aspects

Systemic – Communication with family and friends

Physical – Communication with your own body

Technical – Video technology as a new form of communication and as a new source of residual income

Aspect #1:
Communication With Family And Friends

Stroke patients not only suffer from restrictions in their mobility and the loss of self-determined life with all their own set of problems, in many cases there are also problems in the communication with caretakers and other people in their lives. Home care can become a very complicated matter if the communication is difficult.

It is not easy to mutually understand each other, especially in this situation where the act of speaking itself might have its own challenges. The patient is often introverted or overwhealmed by new impressions, new informations and feelings of despair and hopelessness. He struggles with his capabilities (or the lack of), this new sense of consciousness, is looking for perspectives, is frustrated or has already given up. The way of thinking and the sensitivity has changed. The patient not only experiences problems to speak clearly in a technical way, but also has to process too many impressions, thoughts and feelings that it is difficult to catch up with them for himself – let alone share them all with his beloved ones.

The family on the other hand might have problems to accept these changes and limitations. The stroke hit them unsuspected as well and they try to go on with their normal lives. They HAVE to go on with their lives to stay healthy themselves. And most people have not learned to clearly communicate their limits and set boundaries. So this process is in many cases rather emotional – which is not the best basis for clear communication.

Because of these communication problems, the quality of the relationships within the family suffers. I want to share my own experiences on this blog, hoping to help other stroke patients and their beloved ones to bridge the helplessness and to improve their communication with each other.


Aspect #2:
Communication With Your Own Body

NeuronenThe methods of the Alexander-Technique has enriched my profession and changed my work with patients dramatically. It allowed me to learn the skill of “Inner Communication”, which helped me to recover from my stroke much faster and to not lose all my motoric capabilities. In other words – I was able to maintain the communication between my brain and my body, keep my consciousness inside my limbs and those parts of my body who had become immovable. This way the stream of neuronal stimulations was never interrupted.

As humans, we have various supporting reflexes and mechanisms which intend to make our lives easier and to protect it. Today, many people talk about sustainability to express that we should not waste our resources, not exploit or pollute our earth and rather protect what nurtures us, water, air and earth.

We can do the same with ourselves and treat us in a sustainable and ecological way.

This is much easier to do by using the methods of the Alexander-Technique. They help us to become present – as well in our bodies as in life itself. This presence allows us to live a self-determined life on many levels. When I work with clients or patients, I don’t “treat” them in a sense I would do as a physiotherapist. My “work” is of a different quality – and the focus is on how to become present and self-organized.

My professional background and all my experience with stroke patients and my intimate knowledge and familiarity with staying present had a great impact and made it easy for me to consciously keep the presence in my body and to keep “living” in it, and not let it slip away or give it up. I may have (temporarily) lost control over it, but I have never lost the inner communication with the left side of my paralyzed body.

During that time, when I could only control my thoughts but hardly my body, where I could not move my left side at all, I realized what “normally” happens to stroke patients:

Suddenly a very different self consciousness

My left side: cracking and breaking ice, cold, frozen, like a icy shower

Overwhealming fatigue, hard to resist

Just tired, so tired like never in my life

A strong pull out of my left side of the body, like a genie out of the lamp

An irresistable power

I knew that I needed to withstand and NOT surrender to this pull, this undercurrent, this tiredness, this exodus out of my left side. So I used my years of experience from the Alexander-Technique to keep up the communication with myself and inside myself so this “inner communication” between by mind and my body did not get interrrupted.

But my people are hit by stroke unprepared. They wouldn’t know what to do. They have just lived their lives, have done their work, followed their routine, coming home at night glad, that the day is over. For those people (at least those that I have met), this is different. They experience their stroke in their own way – more or less conscious until they lose it completely. And hours, days, weeks or months later they “wake up” again…

But then everything has changed – their “globe”, their world has turned into a “disc”.


The Idea For The “InstantAidProject” Was Born

Physicians are only interested in medical questions like: “Where is the damage located?” – ” How long was the supply interrupted?”

Patients on the other hand are more interested in how their future life will be. If they have love sports, dancing or playing instruments… – will they be able to pursue their hobbies again? This motivation is a huge factor that determines, how they will make their “way back”, with how much motivation they “fight back into life”.

Any stroke therapy usually starts AFTERWARDS. After everything is “over”. After the brain damage is done and the body might be paralized. Then therapy tries to repair what is to repair.

But wouldn’t it be better, if there was a way to do something WHILE the stroke happens which might reduce its impact and possibly prevent paralysis or at least make recovery faster and easier?

It would certainly be good if every person could learn the Alexander-Technique and the methods to stay present in the body. In other words: to be prepared in case of stroke. But unfortunately, this goal is unrealistic.

Nevertheless, my intention is to extend the existing First Aid care with additional treatments (Instant Aid) which help to maintain the communicatin between brain and body, so that patients have a better chance for full rehabilitation.

Instant Aid Project LogoIf this inner communication is not (no longer) possible from the inside, it has to come from the outside!

This realization is what started the “InstantAidProject”. My goal is to initiate an scientific study which explores the options and documents their outcome scientifically. Once we know which treatment is most effective, all ER doctors and nurses should be educated in this procedure and it should become part of the standard treatment routine for stroke patients. This way, all people would get a the best treatment in case of stroke.

Click here to learn more about the “InstantAidProject



Aspect 3:
Communication With The Help Of Modern Communication Technology

After my stroke I also had the problem how to recover my economical basis. In this situation, where I could no longer work in my profession and was rather limited in what I could do, I was introduced to TalkFusion. The use of this modern video technology not only allowed me to keep up the communication with my clients and my family, it also opened up an additional income stream. Like it did for me, this business oppportunity could also help other stroke patients facing the same problem.

Last but not least, I used this video technology to create some of the content for this blog. I allows me to introduce myself to my readers and share my experiences and insight with a larger audience, so that I can eventually get the required number of stories from stroke patients for the InstantAidProject.

This Blog Focuses On Three Main Topics:

1. On The „InstantAidProject“

My experiences as being a stroke patient with over 28 years of experience in treating other stroke patients and 24 years of work with inner communication revealed that the prognosis of stroke patients could be improved significantly.

2. On „Inner Communication

What does it mean in practice to “organize yourself / your self”? And how is this relevant in this situation, especially after a stroke? “Inner Communication” happens ALL the time! But only if I am able to use it INTENIONALLY (and in fact do it) I can benefit from it. 

3. On „Survival“

A stroke can be one of the most debilitating events that affects all areas of life, including the financial situation. Old structures are no longer supportive and not everyone likes to be dependent on welfare.

I want to

  • encourage you to think in “new” structures – and dare to do so
  • demonstrate practical use and implementations
  • provide contact and support to start something new
  • share what I used for this blog

All articles and videos should eventually become available in German and English and get translated into many other languages, for example French, Spanish, Italian, Hungarian, Hindi, and many, many other languages (anyone up for the challenge? I could need some help with translation and creating videos in languages I don’t speak…)


Please Help To Initiate The “InstantAidProject”!

To initiate a scientifc research project, the initiators need to prove that there is high interest and high demand for the subject. This means, to find adequate partners I need feedback from stroke patients. So in case you are a stroke survivor or one of your family members is, it would help me to raise interest in the “InstantAidProject” if you send me your story and how you have experienced your stroke. If we compare enough stories, we might already see a pattern which could be used to start further research.

Send Me Your Story, How You Have Experienced Your Stroke!

  • Which area was affected?
  • Did you like to dance or do a lot of sports (which one)?
  • Did you play music instruments?

I’m looking forward to your story! (And of course I will treat your info confidentially.)

All the best,

Heinrich Kuhn


Ihr Name (Pflichtfeld)

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse (Pflichtfeld)


Ihre Nachricht


P.S. You Can Help, Even If You Are Not (Yet) Affected By Stroke!

WeitersagenTell your friends about this blog and help promote it so more people learn about this project.  “Like” it on Facebook or on bookmark it on other Social Networks. Or simply forward a link to people you know who had a stroke or whole family members had one.

Thank you so much for your support!

I would be happy to hear feedback about my website and this article. Do you have any questions?  How do you like the idea of the “InstantAidProject”?


Video Overview

My Fusionwall - Here you find all videos of this website on one page for easier navigation

Tell Me Your Story

Did you also have a stroke? Then I would like to hear your story!


For a scientific research project I gather personal reports from stroke patients and how they have experienced their stroke.

What happened in this "moment" and until you slipped away? What did you experience? How did you feel?

Even a few sentences can be helpful for this project which is designed to improve the conditions and prognosis of future stroke patients.


Your Name (required)

Your Email-Address (required)

Your Story


I will treat your report confidentially of course. Thank you so much for your support!

Follow Me!

Kommunikation-24

Initiative für Soforthilfe bei Schlaganfall

Heinrich KuhnMeine Geschichte

Ich bin Heinrich Kuhn,
Krankenpfleger,
Physiotherapeut,
Lehrer der Alexander-Technk,
und mehr.

Als Physiotherapeut und Therapeut für Alexandertechnik betreute ich seit über 28 Jahren Schlaganfallpatienten, sowohl in der Klinik, als auch im häuslichen Umfeld. Als ich im Dezember 2010 selbst einen Schlaganfall mit halbseitiger Lähmung auf der linken Seite erlitt, erlebte ich am eigenen Leibe die „andere Seite“, diesmal als Patient.

Dank meiner beruflichen Vorgeschichte habe ich diese Zeit sicherlich anders erlebt als die meisten Betroffenen. Die Kommunikation hat dabei eine Schlüsselrolle gespielt. Und darüber möchte ich in diesem Blog berichten.

3 Ebenen der Kommunikation

Diese Website hat nicht den Anpruch, über den medizinischen Aspekt von Schlaganfällen aufzuklären. Er ist vielmehr eine Kommunikationsplattform von Betroffenen für Betroffene. Das Thema der Kommunikation, das ich hier vorstellen möchte, hat 3  andere Ebenen bzw. Aspekte:

Systemisch – Kommunikation mit den Angehörigen

Physisch – Kommunikation mit dem eigenen Körper

Technisch – Einsatz von Video-Technik als Kommunikationswerkzeug und als neue Einkommensquelle

Aspekt 1:
Kommunikation mit den Angehörigen

Schlaganfallpatienten leiden oft nicht nur unter den Einbußen in der Selbstbestimmung mit all ihren Nebenerscheinungen und Erschwernissen, sondern bei der häuslichen Betreuung kommt oft auch noch das komplizierte Miteinander mit den Angehörigen hinzu.

Das gegenseitige Verstehen wird einem nicht leicht gemacht, besonders in dieser Situation. Der Patient beschäftigt mit sich, kämpft mit oder leidet unter der Begrenzung der fremden Eigenwahrnehmung, sucht Perspektiven, will sich Mühe geben oder hat schon aufgegeben. Die Denkweise ändert sich, die Empfindsamkeit, viele kaum zu nennende Maßstäbe, dazu die systemisch bedingten Einflüsse. Der Patient hat nicht nur Probleme, sich sprach-technisch mitzuteilen, also die Worte klar und deutlich auszusprechen. Er muss außerdem so viele Eindrücke und Gefühle verarbeiten, dass es sogar für ihn selber schwierig ist, da mitzukommen. Geschweige denn, das alles zu kommunizieren.

Schwierigkeiten der gegenseitigen Annahme innerhalb der Familie, die ja auch nicht darauf vorbereitet war – meistens jedenfalls – die auch noch ihre Normalität leben wollen, ja müssen, um selbst gesund zu bleiben.  Sich auf gesunde Weise abzugrenzen haben die wenigsten vorher gelernt. Das was unternommen wird, um sich „abzugrenzen“ ist doch meistens sehr emotional belegt.

Durch diese gestörte Kommunikation innerhalb der Familien leidet die Qualität der Beziehungen untereinander. Ich möchte an dieser Stelle von meinen eigenen Erlebnissen berichten und hoffe, dass dieser Blog anderen Schlaganfallpatienten und Ihren Angehörigen dabei hilft, die Hilflosigkeit in ihrer Kommunikation miteinander zu überwinden.

Aspekt 2:
Kommunikation mit dem eigenen Körper

Gehirn-Koerper-KommunikationDie Alexander-Technik mit ihren Möglichkeiten hat meine berufliche Tätigkeit bereichert und letztlich wesentlich verändert. Ich habe dadurch die Fähigkeit der „Inneren Kommunikation“ erlernt, die mir ermöglichte, mich wesentlich schneller von meinem Schlaganfall zu erholen und meine motorischen Fähigkeiten nicht ganz zu verlieren. Ich habe – einfach ausgedrückt – die Kommunikation zwischen meinem Gehirn und meinem Körper aufrecht erhalten können und es so geschafft, das Bewusstsein (und damit die Reiz-Weiterleitung) in meinem Körper zu erhalten.

So wie der Mensch konstruiert ist, haben wir verschiedene unterstützende Reflexe und Mechanismen. Deren Funktion ist sicherlich eher, uns das Leben leichter zu machen und das Überleben zu begünstigen. Heute gibt es das Wort Nachhaltigkeit, um Auszudrücken, dass es wichtig ist dafür zu sorgen, dass die Ressourcen Luft, Wasser, Erde, Bodenschätze länger halten, vielleicht auch gar nicht mehr weiter verschlissen, vergeudet werden.

Genauso kann ich auch mit mir selber nachhaltig und ökonomisch umgehen.

Mit Hilfe der Alexander-Technik ist das viel einfacher möglich. Es kommt dadurch auch (wieder) zu einer Präsenz, sowohl im Körper als auch im Leben, die das selbstbestimmte reagieren auf verschiedenen Ebenen ermöglicht. Wenn ich mit Patienten oder Klienten arbeite, „behandle“ ich nicht im Sinne wie ich das als Physiotherapeut gemacht habe. Ich „arbeite“ eher an einer inneren Qualität – d.h. wie ich selbst organisiert und präsent bin.

Meine ganze Vorgeschichte, die Erfahrungen, Bilder und meine Möglichkeit beiläufig und doch klar meine Aufmerksamkeit zu lenken, und zu wissen wie wichtig es ist, die Präsenz zu halten, und das „Wohnen“ in der linken (gelähmten) Körperseite nicht einfach aufzugeben, wegschwimmen zu lassen, hat mein Erleben ganz wesentlich geprägt.

Und im OFF, als ich nur meine Gedanken, meinen Körper aber kaum, und die linke Seite gar nicht bewegen konnte, hat sich mir diese ganze Dramatik gezeigt, was „normalerweise“ passieren kann:

Plötzlich völlig andere Selbstwahrnehmung

Bei mir Links: berstende Eisschollen, kalt, Frost, wie Eisdusche

Müdigkeit, übermenschlich, kaum dagegen anzukommen

nur müde, noch nie so müde erlebt

ein Sog raus aus der linken Körperseite, wie ein Geist aus der Flasche

mit riesengroßer Macht

Ich wusste, dass es nicht gut ist, der Müdigkeit und dem Sog, dem Exodus, dem Auszug aus der linken Seite nachzugeben. Daher habe ich meine jahrelange Erfahrung mit der Alexander-Technik benutzt, in mir und mit mir zu kommunizieren und so die „Innere Kommunikation“ zwischen Gehirn und Körper nicht abreißen zu lassen.

Aber die meisten Menschen trifft der Schlaganfall unvorbereitet. Sie haben bis dahin immer im Leben gestanden, ihre Arbeit gemacht, vielleicht auch nur funktioniert, abends froh, dass der Tag geschafft ist. Für diese Menschen (zumindest die ich kennen gelernt habe) ist der Ablauf ein anderer. Sie erleben den „Schlag“ auf ihre Weise, sind mehr oder weniger lange bewußt. Und nach Stunden, Tagen, Wochen, Monaten, wachen sie wieder auf…

Doch dann ist alles anders – und aus ihrem „Globus“, ihrer bisherigen Selbstwahrnehmung, ist eine „Scheibe“ geworden.

Die Idee für das „InstantAidProjekt“ entsteht

Ärzte interessieren sich normalerweise nur für die Fragen:  „Wo ist die Schädigung?“ – “ Wie lange hat die Versorgung gelitten?“

Die Betroffenen hingegen fragen sich, wie ihre Zukunft aussehen wird. Haben sie vorher z.B. viel Sport gemacht, regelmäßig getanzt, Instrument(e) gespielt… – werden sie das wieder ausüben können? Diese Motivation bestimmt wesentlich mit, wie der Weg „zurück“ verläuft, wie motiviert sich der Patient „ins Leben zurück“ kämpft.

Die Schlaganfall-Therapie fängt also immer NACHHER an. Nachdem also schon alles „vorbei“ ist. Nachdem das Gehirn bereits geschädigt und der Körper vielleicht gelähmt ist. Dann wird versucht, zu reparieren, was zu reparieren ist.

Wäre es nicht besser, wenn es eine Möglichkeit gäbe, bereits WÄHREND des Schlaganfalls etwas tun zu können, damit die Auswirkungen geringer sind und eine Lähmung vielleicht erst gar nicht eintritt?

Es wäre sicherlich toll, wenn jeder Mensch durch die Alexander-Technik oder andere Methoden die Fähigkeit erlernen könnte, im Körper „präsent“ zu bleiben. Mit anderen Worten: sich auf einen möglichen Schlaganfall vorzubereiten. Ich fürchte jedoch, dass dieses Ziel unrealistisch ist.

Dennoch ist es mir ein großes Anliegen, dass die bestehende Erstversorgung um zusätzliche Maßnahmen ergänzt wird, die dabei helfen, die Kommunikation zwischen Gehirn und Körper zu erhalten, um so die Rehabilitationsaussichten erheblich zu verbessern. 

Instant Aid Project LogoWenn die Hilfe also nicht (mehr) von innen kommen kann, dann muss sie von außen kommen!

Diese Erkenntnis hat das „InstantAidProjekt“ ins Leben gerufen. Mein Ziel ist es, eine Studie zu initiieren, die diese Möglichkeiten wissenschaftlich erforscht. Sobald feststeht, welche Techniken am effektivsten sind, sollten alle Ersthelfer und das Pflegepersonal entsprechend geschult werden, so dass alle Menschen eine bessere Soforthilfe bei Schlaganfall erhalten.

Hier erfahren Sie mehr über das „InstantAidProjekt

 

Aspekt 3:
Kommunikation durch den Einsatz von neuen Kommunikationsmedien

Nach meinen Schlaganfall stellte sich mir als Selbständigem außerdem die Frage, wie ich meine Arbeitsfähigkeit und wirtschafliche Basis wiederherstellen könnte. In dieser Situation, in der ich meinen langjährigen Beruf nicht mehr bzw. nicht mehr vollständig ausüben konnte, lernte ich TalkFusion kennen. Der Einsatz dieser modernen Video-Technik hat mir nicht nur ermöglicht, die Kommunikation mit meinem Umfeld aufrecht zu erhalten, sondern sie hat mir auch eine neue Geschäftsmöglichkeit eröffnet, die auch anderen Betroffenen helfen könnte.

Nicht zuletzt ermöglichen mir die Videos und dieser Blog,meine Erfahrungen mit einem größeren Publikum zu teilen, so dass ich Erfahrungsberichte von anderen Schlaganfallbetroffenen sammeln kann.

Dieser Blog widmet sich also drei Schwerpunkten:

1.  Dem „Sofort-Hilfe-Projekt“

Das Selbsterleben als Patient, vor dem Hintergrund von 28 Jahren Erfahrung mit Schlaganfallpatienten und über 24 Jahren  mit Innerer Kommunikation, zeigen mir deutlich erhebliche Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten für die Prognose nach Schlaganfall.

2.  Der „Inneren Kommunikation“

Wie sieht das konkret aus, sich selbst „organisieren“ ? Und welche Relevanz hat das speziell in der Situation, z.B. nach einem Schlaganfall? „Innere Kommunikation“ geschieht immer! Mein Spielraum eröffnet sich mir, wenn ich sie ABSICHTLICH nutzen kann (und es auch tue).

3.  Dem „Über-Leben“

Durch den Schlaganfall kann vieles, auch die wirtschaftliche Situation, instabil werden. Altes trägt nicht mehr und nicht für jeden ist Hartz IV akzeptabel.

Hier will ich

  • dazu ermuntern, „Neu“ zu denken – und wagen zu denken
  • praktikable Möglichkeiten aufzeigen
  • Kontakte und Unterstützung beim Aufbau von etwas Neuem anbieten
  • Erzählen von dem was ich nutze, um diesen Blog zu realisieren

Alle Texte und Videos sollen in Deutsch und Englisch (und möglichst auch in Französisch, Spanisch, Italienisch, Ungarisch, Indisch, Philippinisch und vielen, vielen weiteren Sprachen – fühlt sich jemand berufen? Unterstützung ist immer willkommen!) veröffentlicht werden.

Bitte helfen Sie mit, das „InstantAidProjekt“ ins Leben zu rufen!

Um Forschungsprojekte in Gang zu bringen, muss ausreichender Bedarf daran bestehen und nachgewiesen werden. Um die Unterstützung von Wissenschaft und Forschung zu bekommen, brauche ich also das Feedback aus der Bevölkerung. Wenn Sie selber oder ein Angehöriger schon mal einen Schlaganfall erlebt haben, dann würde es mir sehr helfen, wenn Sie mir schreiben, wie Sie ihren Schlaganfall erlebt haben. Vielleicht ergeben sich aus dem direkten Vergleich ja schon Anhaltspunkte, wie sich das „InstantAidProjekt“ weiterentwickeln könnte.

Schreiben Sie mir, wie Sie Ihren Schlaganfall erlebt haben!

  • Wo war die Störung?
  • Haben Sie vorher regelmäßig und wie viel getanzt/Sport getrieben (welchen)?
  • Haben Sie ein oder mehrere Musikinstrumente gespielt?

Ich freue mich auf Ihre Geschichte! (Ihre Schilderung wird selbstverständlich vertraulich behandelt.)

Herzlichst, Ihr

Heinrich Kuhn

 

Ihr Name (Pflichtfeld)

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse (Pflichtfeld)

Betreff

Ihre Nachricht

 


P.S. Sie können auch helfen, wenn Sie selber (noch) nicht betroffen sind.

WeitersagenBitte empfehlen Sie diesen Blog weiter.

Geben Sie mir z.B. ein „Like“ auf Facebook und schicken Sie den Link an Bekannte, die einen Schlaganfall erlitten haben oder die Angehörige eines Schlaganfall-Patienten sind. Vielen Dank für Ihre Hilfe!

Ich freue mich auch über Ihr Feedback zu diesem Blog. Haben Sie Fragen dazu? Wie gefällt Ihnen diese Idee und das „InstantAidProjekt“?

 

Video-Übersicht

Meine Fusionwall - Hier finden Sie alle Videos dieser Website übersichtlich auf einer Seite

Erzählen Sie IHRE Story

Hatten Sie auch schon mal einen Schlaganfall? Dann erzählen Sie mir von Ihrem Erlebnis!

 

Für ein wissenschaftliches Projekt sammle ich Erfahrungsberichte von Patienten und wie diese ihren Schlaganfall erlebt haben.

Wie war das in dem "Moment" des Schlaganfalls bis zum Wegdriften? Was haben Sie erlebt? Was haben Sie dabei gefühlt?

Schon wenige Sätze können eine große Hilfe und Unterstützung dabei sein, um die Bedingungen und Prognose künftiger Schlaganfall-Patienten erheblich zu verbessern.

 





Ihr Name (Pflichtfeld)

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse (Pflichtfeld)

Betreff

Ihre Nachricht

 

Ihre Schilderung behandle ich selbstverständlich vertraulich. Vielen Dank für Ihre Unterstützung!

Folge Mir!